Sometimes it's obvious (by looking at the allergen info) that the item isn't suitable for vegans, but this isn't always the case. Some additives may not be allergens and may not be highlighted. So, for example, vitamin D3 invariably comes from sheep's wool. Or maybe there are bee products (honey or propolis) in the food that would make it unsuitable for vegans.
There is the added complication nowadays that a vegan product may be produced in a factory that produces dairy products, and so the label says "may contain traces of milk..."
To read more and to sign the petition go to